Sunday, March 23, 2014

The Descent (The Taker #3) by Alma Katsu

Book: The Descent (The Taker Trilogy #3)
Author: Alma Katsu
Narrator (if applicable): n/a

Release date (if applicable): Published

Synopsis: From because this trilogy is way too difficult to capture everything!

The final installment in the “mesmerizing” (Booklist, starred review) and addictive trilogy—find out who truly holds the key to Lanny’s heart and whether she’ll ever be reunited with her beloved in this gripping supernatural tale of magic, lust, and longing.
Lanore McIlvrae has been on the run from Adair for hundreds of years, dismayed by his mysterious powers and afraid of his temper. She betrayed Adair’s trust and imprisoned him behind a stone wall to save Jonathan, the love of her life. When Adair was freed 200 years later, she was sure that he would find her and make her existence a living hell. But things turned out far different than she’d imagined.
Four years later, Lanore has tracked Adair to his mystical island home, where he has been living in self-imposed exile, to ask for a favor. She wants Adair to send her to the hereafter so she may beg the Queen of the Underworld to release Jonathan, whom she has been keeping as her consort. Will Lanore honor her promise to Adair to return? Or is her intention to reunite with Jonathan at any cost?
Of all the forces of the universe, the most mysterious, confounding, and humbling is the power of love. The epic story of love and loss, magic and destiny that began with The Taker and sparked a chase around the world in The Reckoning comes to a surprising conclusion with The Descent. 

My rating: 4 Stars
My opinion: Hands down, this book was my favorite in the series. It flew by for me and I ended up reading it in one sitting. I found this to be the most twisted and dark of the trilogy. As this is the last in the trilogy, I enjoyed how the author wrapped up the storyline and the characters. 

Source: Publisher for review
Would I recommend? : I always recommend this series. I thoroughly enjoyed it. On that note, this is a trilogy that MUST be read in order!  Otherwise, the reader will be lost. Each book plays beautifully off one another.
Stand Alone or Part of a Series: Last in trilogy

No comments:

Post a Comment