Sunday, October 25, 2015

Broken Promise by Linwood Barclay

Book: Broken Promise: A Thriller

Author: Linwood Barclay

Release date (if applicable): Published

Synopsis: David Harwood, suffering from the death of his wife and the loss of a job, is at his wit's end when he receives a call from his mother. A new mother in town has been stabbed to death and his cousin is the prime suspect in the case. 

Marla, who suffered the loss of her own baby at birth, has her own demons. She has not recovered from the loss and is now claiming that the dead woman's baby was left on her doorstep by an angel. 

The secrets of Promise Falls, NY are much deeper and deadlier than anyone imagined. 

Can David prove his cousin's innocence or was she going to get a baby by any means necessary?

My rating: 4 Stars

My opinion: A new series from Linwood Barclay. While most of his series are based on a main character, it seems as though this one is based on a town. It should be interesting to see how it pans out. 

I absolutely loved the twists and turns in this book. It reminded me of some of Chevy Stevens' early works and what I loved most about Barclay's earlier works. 

Source: Publisher for review

Would I recommend? : Yes. 

Stand Alone or Part of a Series: First in series (Promise Falls)

No comments:

Post a Comment